There Is Only One You

As I sit here in my living room writing, I’m looking out my front window and snowflakes are falling. As I watch them swirl around, a thought comes to my mind. Snowflakes are unique. There are no two alike. When you think about it, isn’t that amazing? I live in Michigan and we have had record amounts of snowfall this year. Just thinking about the billions of snowflakes that have fallen and the fact that each one is unique just blows my mind!

IMG_0974

Guess what? Snowflakes aren’t the only thing God made unique. There is only one you. No one has your unique physical shape or features, personality, skills, or strengths. No one has the same experiences you have had or has traveled the same road in life. You are one of a kind. Isn’t that awesome?

In Psalm 139:14-16 it says, “I praise you because you made me in an amazing and wonderful way. What you have done is wonderful. I know this very well. You saw my bones being formed as I took shape in my mother’s body. When I was put together there, you saw my body as it was formed. All the days planned for me were written in your book before I was one day old.”

God made you the way you are for a specific purpose. He has a plan for you. Jeremiah 29:11 says, “For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.”

So next time you see snow falling, remember that you are of great worth to God. You are fearfully and wonderfully made. You are made in his image and you matter to him. So don’t be afraid to be yourself. Dare to be the unique person God has made you to be. After all, there is only one you.

Snowflake-Poem-4x6-copy

Leave a Reply

